Paddy McNair
Northern Ireland will play Slovakia in the Euro 2020 play-off final

Northern Ireland beat Bosnia-Herzegovina 4-3 on penalties to go through to final of the Euro 2020 play-offs in hugely dramatic fashion.

The visitors won the shoot-out after an enthralling match in Sarajevo finished 1-1 after extra-time.

Liam Boyce scored the winning penalty for Ian Baraclough’s men after Bailey Peacock-Farrell saved from Haris Hajradinovic and Edin Visca missed.

Niall McGinn equalised for NI after Rade Krunic had opened the scoring.

NI will now play Slovakia in the play-off final in November after they defeated the Republic of Ireland on penalties in Bratislava.

Boyce had only come on as a substitute in the final minute of extra time, along with Conor Washington, who scored NI’s fourth penalty after George Saville had blazed the third one over the crossbar.

In what was the first penalty shoot-out in NI’s history, Peacock-Farrell, who had made a number of decent stops during the 90 minutes, dived to his left to deny Hajradinovic before Visca struck the crossbar.

The evening had started well for Bosnia when they opened the scoring in the 13th minute. A long ball down the right hand channel found Branimir Cipetic, who was being marshalled by Jonny Evans before the Leicester City defender slipped and let the full-back break into the box.

He cut it back to Krunic, who had stepped off Stuart Dallas to find space in the box, and the AC Milan man calmly side-footed home his second international goal despite Bailey Peacock-Farrell getting a foot to it.

McGinn’s equaliser came eight minutes into the second half when the Aberdeen winger latched on to a long ball to make the most of a ricochet and bustle his way into the box before delivering a composed finish.

More to follow.



  • 12Sehic
  • 15Cipetic
  • 3Ahmedhodzic
  • 17Sanicanin
  • 5KolasinacBooked at 47minsSubstituted forHajradinovicat 118′minutes
  • 13CimirotSubstituted forLoncarat 105′minutes
  • 6HadziahmetovicBooked at 19minsSubstituted forGojakat 83′minutes
  • 10PjanicBooked at 100mins
  • 8Visca
  • 11Dzeko
  • 19KrunicSubstituted forHoticat 88′minutes


  • 1Begovic
  • 2Nastic
  • 4Todorovic
  • 7Hotic
  • 9Hodzic
  • 14Gojak
  • 16Hadzikadunic
  • 18Djuric
  • 20Hajradinovic
  • 21Loncar
  • 22Piric
  • 23Milosevic

Northern Ireland

  • 1Peacock-Farrell
  • 14Dallas
  • 20Cathcart
  • 5Evans
  • 3Lewis
  • 13EvansSubstituted forWhyteat 73′minutes
  • 8DavisBooked at 108mins
  • 6Saville
  • 7McGinnSubstituted forJonesat 82′minutesSubstituted forWashingtonat 120+1′minutes
  • 17McNairSubstituted forThompsonat 90+3′minutesSubstituted forBoyceat 120+1′minutes
  • 21MagennisSubstituted forLaffertyat 90+3′minutes


  • 2McLaughlin
  • 4Flanagan
  • 9Boyce
  • 10Lafferty
  • 11Ferguson
  • 12McGovern
  • 15Thompson
  • 16Washington
  • 18Whyte
  • 19Jones
  • 22Ballard
  • 23Carson

Antonio Miguel Mateu Lahoz

Live Text

Player of the match

DallasStuart Dallas


  1. Squad number11Player nameDzeko

  2. Squad number12Player nameSehic

  3. Squad number19Player nameKrunic

  4. Squad number10Player namePjanic

  5. Squad number13Player nameCimirot

  6. Squad number15Player nameCipetic

  7. Squad number3Player nameAhmedhodzic

  8. Squad number21Player nameLoncar

  9. Squad number5Player nameKolasinac

  10. Squad number7Player nameHotic

  11. Squad number8Player nameVisca

  12. Squad number6Player nameHadziahmetovic

  13. Squad number20Player nameHajradinovic

  14. Squad number14Player nameGojak

  15. Squad number17Player nameSanicanin

Northern Ireland

  1. Squad number14Player nameDallas

  2. Squad number8Player nameDavis

  3. Squad number7Player nameMcGinn

  4. Squad number1Player namePeacock-Farrell

  5. Squad number5Player nameEvans

  6. Squad number9Player nameBoyce

  7. Squad number10Player nameLafferty

  8. Squad number3Player nameLewis

  9. Squad number21Player nameMagennis

  10. Squad number20Player nameCathcart

  11. Squad number13Player nameEvans

  12. Squad number16Player nameWashington

  13. Squad number18Player nameWhyte

  14. Squad number19Player nameJones

  15. Squad number17Player nameMcNair

  16. Squad number15Player nameThompson

  17. Squad number6Player nameSaville

Source link


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here